YLR Gospel News

Related Articles
bobby jones faith feature
roland martin award
Roland Martin
Posted by: YLR Gospel News

Hollywood personalities (L-R) Rochelle Aytes, Angell Conwell, Alfred Liggins, Faith Evans, Christina Norman, D’Angela Proctor, and Nicci Gilbert join Roland Martin (third from left) for an intimate gathering at the L’Ermitage Beverly Hills.

Los Angeles, CA – July 29, 2013 – On Wednesday, in celebration of his new TV One morning show “News One Now” and recent honor as “Journalist Of The Year” by the National Association of Black Journalists, Roland S. Martin, hosted his annual Los Angeles soiree at the L’Ermitage Beverly Hills. Martin was joined by celebrities and a host of Hollywood insiders including actress Erika Alexander (“Criminal Minds”), actress Rochelle Aytes (ABC’s “Mistresses), actor/ comedian Bill Bellamy (“Mr. Box Office”), recording artist Rhona Bennett (En Vogue), VH1 Director of Celebrity Talent Relations & Creative Development Denise Bishop, CW Vice President of Current Programming Traci Blackwell, SVP of Marketing Qubeey Marc Brogdon,


(L-R) Founder of THE AJ ZONE AJ Johnson, actress/ activist Sheryl Lee Ralph (“Instant Mom”), and actress Meagan Good (“Think Like A Man Too”) attend television host Roland Martin’s annual Los Angeles affair.

President of Codeblack Films Jeff Clanagan, CEO of Revolt TV Keith Clinkscales, comedian Michael Colyar, actress Angell Conwell (“The Young and The Restless”), actress Wendy Davis (“Army Wives”), actor/director Bill Duke (“Not Easily Broken”), recording artist Terry Ellis (En Vogue), recording artist/ reality star Faith Evans (TV One’s “R&B Divas”), Sony Pictures Senior Vice President of Production / author DeVon Franklin, recording artist/ reality star Nicci Gilbert (TV One’s “R&B Divas”), actress Meagan Good (“Think Like A Man Too”), Co-Executive Producer Heather Gray (CBS’ “The Talk”), recording artist Cindy Herron (En Vogue), founder of THE AJ ZONE AJ Johnson, CEO of The Langford Company and former NBC executive Debra Langford, TV One CEO Alfred Liggins, reality star and restauranteur Miss Robbie Montgomery (OWN’s “Welcome to Sweetie Pie’s”),


“R&B Divas” Nicci Gilbert (L) and Faith Evans (R) join fellow TV One talent Roland Martin for his annual Los Angeles get-together.



TV One consultant Christina Norman, reality star Tim Norman (OWN’s “Welcome to Sweetie Pie’s”), TV One acting Head of Programming D’Angela Proctor, actress/ activist Sheryl Lee Ralph (“Instant Mom”), television personality Tanika Ray (“HGTV Design Star”), director Matty Rich, publicist Reid Rich, Senior Associate Producer Tera Roberson (“Dr. Phil”), celebrity Judge Kevin Ross (“America’s Court with Judge Ross”), executive producer / comedian Chris Spencer (BET’s “Real Husbands of Hollywood”), actress Tika Sumpter (Tyler Perry’s “The Haves and the Have Nots”), reality stars Ben and Jewel Tankard (Bravo’s “Thicker Than Water: The Tankards”), actor Glynn Turman (Showtime’s “House of Lies”), talk show host Sheryl Underwood (CBS’ “The Talk”), actor/ director Mario Van Peebles (Starz’s “Boss”), and actress Vanessa Williams (“Raising Izzie”).

roland martin2About Roland S. Martin – Anchor of TV One’s
“News One Now”

A nationally syndicated columnist with Creators Syndicate and senior analyst for the Tom Joyner Morning Show, Roland S. Martin (www.rolandsmartin.com) is the author of Listening to the Spirit Within: 50 Perspectives on Faith, and Speak, Brother! A Black Man’s View of America, and “The First: President Barack Obama’s Road to the White House as originally reported by Roland S. Martin.”

Named three times by Ebony Magazine as one of the 150 Most Influential African Americans in the United States, he is the 2009 winner of the NAACP Image Award for Best Interview for “In Conversation: The Michelle Obama Interview.” He is the 2008 winner of the NAACP Image Award for Best Interview for “In Conversation: The Sen. Barack Obama Interview.”

In 2009, CNN was awarded the Peabody Award for its outstanding 2008 election coverage, of which Martin was a member of the Best Political Team on Television.

Martin, named one of the top 50 political pundits by the Daily Telegraph in the United Kingdom, was also awarded the 2008 President’s Award by the National Association of Black Journalists for his work in multiple media platforms. In 2008, he was also inducted into the Texas A&M University Journalism Hall of Honor.

He has won more than 30 professional awards for journalistic excellence from a variety of media organizations, including the Radio Television News Directors Association; the National Association of Black Journalists; the National Association of Minorities in Cable, and the National Associated Press-Managing Editors Conference.  Connect with Martin on Twitter @RolandSMartin or www.facebook.com/rolandsmartinfanpage.


Got news? Send us your press release to press@yeslordradio.com